Chicago Park District

Midnight Circus in the Parks Continues to Awe Audiences and Bring in Proceeds for Local Park Improvements

8/9/2013
circus_in_the_parks_jugglers
© 

The Midnight Circus in partnership with the Chicago Park District presents the seventh annual Circus in the Parks, Aug. 17-Oct. 6, at 11 citywide parks.  Voted “Best Annual Family Event” by TimeOut Chicago, this unique performance featuring an eclectic ensemble of acrobats, aerialists, dancers, contortionists and a dog under the big top tent has thrilled more than 40,000 attendees since 2007.  Click here to watch a video.

Since its inception, this family friendly event has raised nearly $420,000 towards park improvements, such as new playgrounds, due to engagement from park advisory councils.  Furthermore, Midnight Circus has built long-term relationships within Chicago’s neighborhoods in an effort to engage the public with local parks.  For example, a church in Grand Crossing purchased 250 tickets to distribute free of charge to its congregation.

Circus in the Parks is part of the Chicago Park District’s Night Out in the Parks initiative, which features more than 750 citywide cultural activities this summer, making more than 230 local parks safe havens and hubs of activity.

The 2013 Circus in the Parks tour is presented by People’s Gas. 

Ticket Information
Ticket prices vary per location from $5-$20.  Children under 2 are free.  Discounts are available for groups of 20 and more.  To purchase tickets, visit www.circusintheparks.org.

2013 Tour Schedule

Grand Crossing Park, 7655 S. Ingleside Ave., 312-747-6158
Saturday, Aug. 17 at 2 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 18 at 1 p.m.

Ogden Park, 6500 S. Racine Ave., 312-747-6572
Saturday, Aug. 24 at 2 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 25 at 1 p.m.

Garfield Park, 100 N. Central Park Ave., 312-746-5092
Saturday, Aug. 31 at 2 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 1 at 1 p.m.

Douglas Park, 1401 S. Sacramento Dr., 773-762-2842
Saturday, Sept. 7 at 2 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 8 at 1 p.m.

Hamlin Park, 3035 N. Hoyne Ave., 312-742-7785
Friday, Sept. 13 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 14 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 15 at 1 and 4 p.m.

Holstein Park, 2200 N. Oakley Ave., 312-742-7554
Friday, Sept. 20 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 21 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 22 at 1 and 4 p.m.

Mt. Greenwood Park, 3721 W. 111th St., 312-747-6564
Saturday, Sept. 28 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 29 at 1 and 4 p.m.

Independence Park, 3945 N. Springfield Ave., 773-478-3538
Friday, Oct. 4 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 5 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 6 at 1 and 4 p.m.

Commercial Club Playground, 1845 W. Rice St., 312-742-7558
Saturday, Oct. 12 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 13 at 1 and 4 p.m.

Margate Park, 4921 N. Marine Dr., 312-742-7522
Saturday, Oct. 19 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 20 at 1 and 4 p.m.

Welles Park, 2333 W. Sunnyside Ave., 312-742-7511
Friday, Oct. 25 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 26 at 2 and 5 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 27 at 1 and 4 p.m.

# # #
 

 

« Back