The Chicago Park District Act (70 ILCS 1505 et seq) provides that the Chicago Park District (the “Park District”) shall be governed by a board of seven (7) non-salaried Commissioners who are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Chicago with the approval of the Chicago City Council.  Under the Chicago Park District Code, the Commissioners have a fiduciary duty to act, vote on all matters, and govern the Park District in the best interest of the Park District.


The management and control of business and property of the Park District shall be vested in the Board of Commissioners as created and established by the Chicago Park District Act.

Regular Meetings

The Board shall give public notice of the schedule of regular meetings at the beginning of each calendar or fiscal year and shall state the regular dates, times and places of such meetings. At least three (3) regular meetings shall be held in different fieldhouses located throughout the Park District, with each of the three (3) meetings being held in a different field house during each four-month period of the calendar or fiscal year. Public notice of such field house meetings shall be given as prescribed in An Act in Relation to Meetings, 5ILCS 120/1.01 et seq. as heretofore or hereafter amended.

Annual Meetings

The Annual Meeting of the Board shall be held on the second Wednesday of May each year at 11:30 a.m. or at such other date and time as the Board may set.

Special Meetings

Special meetings of the Board shall be held when called by the Secretary at the request of the President or any two (2) Commissioners. All Park District business, of whatever nature or description, may be considered and disposed of at such special meetings the same as if at a regular meeting. Written notice shall be given by the Secretary to each Commissioner of the time and place of each special meeting, by depositing the properly addressed and stamped notice in the United States mail, or by telegram, facsimile, or personal service at least twenty-four hours before said meeting. Such notice need not contain special reference to the matters of business to be considered at such meeting. Commissioners may either at or after such special meeting, waive the requirement notice.

Place of Meetings

All meetings of the Board shall be held in the Board Room of the Park District Administration Building, or at such other place as the Board may designate.


Four Commissioners shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business and it shall require the affirmative vote of four Commissioners to carry any motion. In case there is no quorum present on the day fixed for the meeting, the Commissioners present, may adjourn the meeting until a quorum is obtained. The presiding Commissioners at any meeting shall be entitled to vote.

Order of Business

The order of business at all meetings of the Board shall be as follows:

  • Roll Call
  • Approval of the minutes
  • Communications and Reports
  • Unfinished Business
  • New Business
  • Manner of Vote

The yeas and nays shall be taken upon the passage of all ordinances, resolutions or other matters requiring approval of the Board and shall be entered upon the Journal of Proceedings.

Rules of Order

Roberts Rules of Order shall govern in questions of procedure in all cases not provided herein to the contrary.

Election of President and Vice President

At the annual meeting of the Board of Commissioners, each year, the Board of Commissioners shall choose from among their members a president and a vice president, each to serve for a term of one year and until their successors are chosen and qualified.

Vice President

In case of death, resignation, absence from the City of Chicago, or other disability of the President, the power and duties of the office of President, until his/her successor shall be chosen, or until the disability shall be removed, shall devolve on the Vice President. The Vice President shall have such other duties as may be imposed on him/her by ordinance or by law.


Connect with the Board: